is 21. Picture
identification may be requested during
are open until 2 a.m. Liquor stores
are open seven
days a week. California State Law
sale of alcoholic beverages from 2 a.m.
to 6 a.m.
Smoking Laws: You must be 18 to purchase tobacco products.
Smoking is prohibited on public transportation and in public buildings,
including bars and restaurants. Smoking is prohibited within 20 feet of
any entrance, exit, or air-intake vent to any building that is open to
the public, except while passing on the way to another destination. Smoking
is also prohibited within 20 feet of any bus stop.
Driving: It is illegal to operate
a motor vehicle with a blood alcohol level
of .08% or higher. If you are suspected
of driving under the influence, you must
submit to a chemical test to determine
your blood alcohol content.
for all motorcyclists and their passengers. Required for bicyclists under
18 years old.
phones: It is illegal to use
a cell phone while driving in California.
A hands-free headset is required to utilize
a cell phone while behind the wheel. It
also against the law to utilize the text-messaging
function on a cell phone while driving
within the state.
Required Documents: You must carry a valid driver's license
from your home state or country. The minimum age for drivers is 16 with
training, 18 without.
on Red": You may turn right at a red
light after making a full stop, unless signs indicate otherwise.
Conditions: Call the California
Department of Transportation for 24-hour
information at 1-800-427-7623 (1-800-GAS-ROAD).
Child Restraints: Seatbelts must be worn
by all passengers. Children under 6 years old or weighing less than 60
pounds must be in an appropriate safety seat.
Vehicular Accidents: You must report an accident to the California
Department of Motor Vehicles if anyone is injured or killed or if more
than $500 in damage is incurred.
Painted curbs mean
that parking is controlled. The colors
on curbs mean:
Yellow Zones- Curbs marked by yellow are reserved for
commercial use for loading and unloading merchandise or materials. These
zones are enforced Monday through Saturday, 7 a.m.-6 p.m., unless posted
otherwise. Some metered parking spaces can be yellow zones during certain
Red Curbs- Curbs marked by red are no stopping, standing,
or parking under any circumstances and are enforced 24 hours a day, 7
days a week.
Curbs- Curbs marked by green indicate short-term,
restricted, or limited time-zone parking. Zones are marked with signs
indicating 5 minutes to 2 hours limited parking. Green zones are enforced
Monday through Saturday from 9 a.m. to 6 p.m., unless posted otherwise.
White Curbs- Curbs marked by white are designated passenger
loading zones. Unless signs are posted, drivers of the vehicle must remain
in the car for only three minutes to drop off or pick up passengers. Drivers
cannot leave their vehicles. White curbs are enforced 24 hours a day,
7 days a week, unless posted otherwise.
Curbs- Blue curbs are reserved
for vehicles displaying valid Disabled
placards or Disabled persons license plates
from any state. These curbs are enforced
24 hours a day, 7 days a week. Fines for
vehicles parking at a disabled parking
place without a placard are set by the
State of California and begin at $275.
You must complete customs and
immigration formalities at the first point
of arrival in the United States, whether
or not it's your final destination.
Electrical current is 110 volts.
Language Assistance- Dial 1-888-US-1-INFO
for free access to emergency services
and travel assistance in more than 140
Documents- Contact the nearest
U.S. embassy or consulate for visa, passport,
and health requirements.
There is no compulsory or government
plan in the United States. It is advisable
to purchase travel and health insurance
in case of emergency.
THE KAWEAH COMMONWEALTH is published every Friday in Three Rivers, California.
EDITORS/PUBLISHERS: John Elliott and Sarah Barton Elliott